With so many people making smart lifestyle choices people are starting to ask questions about what goes into their bodies. CBD has become a multi-billion-dollar industry. Millions of people around the world have tried CBD and millions continue to buy CBD.
The number of CBD users globally continues to climb and it's evident by the amount of sales CBD is driving. Diets and eating trends are changing. Today's menus often include options like low-carb and vegan meals. With the increase in the popularity of CBD, more health-conscious people are starting to ask the question, is CBD vegan?
This is a good question. One that has a basic answer and a complicated answer. To paint a better picture of the answer to that question, we're going to explore what it means to be vegan and take a quick refresher on CBD. Afterward, we'll look at some reasons that CBD
could be considered vegan. We'll also explore some reasons that will leave you questioning if CBD is vegan.
You might think that a vegetarian and a vegan are the same thing. They're not. Vegetarians don't eat animals, but most do consume animal products like milk, eggs, etc. Vegans go the extra step to avoid animal products too. This means no cheese, milk, eggs, or other products that come from animals. You might be surprised how many products use animal parts in them. A vegan diet consists of fruits, vegetables, nuts, and grains strictly forbidding consuming anything made from animal products.
Cannabidiol, more commonly called CBD, is a plant compound found in cannabis. It is present in both medical cannabis and industrial hemp. Industrial hemp is legal in most places. This means that CBD derived from industrial hemp
is too. As long as it has 0.2% THC or less that is. CBD products are only allowed to contain a maximum of 1mg of CBD per bottle.
To avoid THC in a CBD product you will want to look for products made from CBD isolate. CBD isolate is 99% pure CBD having all other plant compounds removed.
A refillable vape pen
filled with CBD isolate bases vape juice will allow you to avoid the intoxicating effect found in THC vape juice and THC vape pens. Therefore CBD pen also legal in the UK.
CBD in its raw natural form can be vegan. It can also be questionably vegan. Vegans don't consume animals. If a plant is grown using animal products such as manure, fish meal, or worm castings, one could argue that that plant isn't vegan. Assuming none of these types of fertilisers are used during cultivation, the extracted CBD should be vegan. The vegan aspect of CBD becomes compromised when CBD is processed into other products. CBD edibles
for example could use eggs, milk, or other animal products in their recipe.
For the most part, plants are vegan meaning that CBD from cannabis is also vegan. The manufacturing and cultivation processes are the most likely areas where the vegan aspect of CBD could be compromised. If you practice a vegan lifestyle, you already know how important it is to read product labels and know what you're purchasing. A great example is someone who doesn't know better, might believe that all CBD gummies
are vegan because they don't contain dairy or meat. Or, do they?
The gelatine found in most gummies comes from boiling bones, ligaments, skin, and tendons of pigs and/or cows to get gelatine. Do you think those marshmallows are vegan? Think again. Most marshmallows contain gelatine. Vegan gelatine comes from plants like seaweed. Agar-Agar is gelatine for vegans. If you are walking the vegan path, be careful because you have to really read between the lines to make sure products are truly vegan, and this could be true even for CBD products.